youtube instagram newsong recordings

Early Bird entries to NewSong Competition end July 24

July 23rd, 2022

The ‘Early Bird’ discounted entry fee to enter this year’s NewSong Music Performance and Songwriting Competition ends at 11:59 PM EDT this Sunday, July 24. Prices are currently 1 song: $40; 2 songs: $70; additional songs: $25 each.

The final deadline to enter the competition is Sunday, Sept. 18, but submission fees increase after July 24.

From the early entries, we will select one ‘Early Bird’ finalist, who will advance to this year’s live performance showcase and competition finals, which will take place on Saturday, December 3, 2022 at Citizen Vinyl in downtown Asheville.

All entrants will remain in the running for the remaining finalist spots, which will be announced later in the year. To enter, you need an MP3 of each of your songs you’d like to submit, and a non-mobile device to upload your work. Production quality of the recording is not a determining factor for consideration in the contest so don’t be shy to go full DIY.

There is no limit to how many songs you may submit, so enter often and early to become a finalist and win the 2021 Grand Prize!

More about the competition: NewSong Music’s curated showcases have been a fixture in the national music scene since 2001. The competition finals, formerly staged in New York City at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, relocated to Asheville, N.C. in 2017.

Eight finalists, selected from online submissions from across North America and beyond, will bring their musical magic to Asheville where they will perform, compete, and connect with one another. A panel of music industry judges will select one grand prize winner to receive a fully funded six-song EP, recorded and mixed at Citizen Studios, plus 300 vinyl records pressed at Citizen Vinyl, and a featured, paid performance at Arts Brookfield’s Summer Concert Series in New York City in the summer of 2023.

Past NewSong winners and standouts include Ingrid Michaelson, Meghan Trainor, Max Hatt/Edda Glass, Grace Potter, and Crys Matthews.